University of Houston System

CampusesAs the region's largest provider of comprehensive university services from the baccalaureate to the doctorate, the University of Houston System plays a primary role in meeting the higher education needs of the Houston metropolitan area and Texas.  The UH System is comprised of four universities: 

University of Houston - The largest university in Houston and the third largest in the state, UH is a nationally competitive doctoral degree-granting, comprehensive research university that has recently been recognized by the Carnegie Foundation for its very high level of research activity.

University of Houston-Clear Lake - Located near the NASA Johnson Space Center, UH-Clear Lake is an upper level and master's institution situated in the heart of Clear Lake's high-technology community.

University of Houston-Downtown - The second largest university in Houston and the most ethnically diverse university in the state, UHD is a four-year, primarily undergraduate institution that is now expanding its portfolio of graduate programs.

University of Houston-Victoria - Located in the Coastal Bend region of Texas, UHV is an undergraduate and master's university that enrolled its first freshman class in fall 2010 and has one of the most dynamic online educational programs in the state. 

In addition to its universities, the UH System includes the UH System Administration, six regional teaching centers and Houston Public Media, which is comprised of KUHT/Channel 8-Houston Public Television; KUHF-Houston’s National Public Radio station; and KUHA, the classical music station.

The System enrolls nearly 66,000 students, awards more than 14,500 degrees annually and produced $127 million in research expenditures in 2021-2013. Quite simply, the UH System does more to enroll and graduate students and produce cutting edge research than any other university in the region. Among institutions nationwide, the UH System remains a model of diversity and a reflection of the city it serves.